SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSE, CA 95192

F08-3, Policy Recommendation, Changes to the Composition of the Professional Standards Committee

Legislative History:

At its meeting of December 15, 2008, the Academic Senate approved the following Policy Recommendation presented by Senator Backer for the Organization and Government Committee.

Amends Bylaw 2.21, Bylaw 6.8 and Bylaw 6.9

Action by University President: Approved by President Jon Whitmore on December 23, 2008.

Policy Recommendation

Changes to the Composition of the Professional Standards Committee

WHEREAS, the selection of the committee chair to the Professional Standards

Committee has had considerable discussion and comments from

both existing and past committee chairs

RESOLVED: that the chair of the Professional Standards Committee be a

tenured full Professor; and be it further

RESOLVED: that Bylaw 6.8 be revised to read as follows:

"Except as otherwise provided in these By-laws, chairs of operating committees shall be elected by the committee. Any member of the committee, except an ex officio member is eligible as chair. Chairs of policy committees shall be elected annually by the Senate from its faculty representatives. Nominees for Chair of Professional Standards must be tenured full professors."

And be it further

RESOLVED: that Bylaw 2.21 be revised to read as follows:

"Senate officers, other than the Chair, Past Chair, and faculty-at-large representative shall be elected from the faculty members of the Senate annually for one year terms. Nominees for Chair of Professional Standards must be tenured full professors."

And be it further

RESOLVED: that Bylaw 6.9 be revised to read as follows:

- "6.9 a) All policy committee appointments shall be for one year, commencing with the first meeting of the Senate for the year (in the last month of the Spring semester).
 - b) Seniority shall not be the primary factor in selecting members of policy committees.
 - c) Tenured faculty should be given priority for appointment to the Professional Standards committee."

RATIONALE:

The Chair of the Professional Standards Committee should be a tenured full professor and, as far as possible, members of Professional Standards should be tenured because they have already experienced the RTP process and are likely to have served on RTP committees in the past.

Approved November 3, 2008

Vote: 9-0-0

Present: Patricia Backer (chair), Linda Main, Susan McClory, Ted Norton, Angela Rickford, Carol Reade, Swathi Vanniarajan, Tim Hendrick, Gerry Selter, Maricela

Contreras

Absent: Chris Hebert

Workload Impact: None

Financial Impact: None