S87-6 GRADUATE THESIS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Legislative History:

Document dated April 13, 1987.

At its meeting of March 30, 1987, the Academic Senate approved the following Policy Recommendation presented by Ruth Yaffe for the Curriculum Committee.

ACTION BY THE UNIVERSITY PRESIDENT:

"Approved and Accepted as University Policy. Effective for all thesis committees formed after this date." Signed: Gail Fullerton, April 13, 1987.

THESIS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

S 87-6

A thesis committee shall be composed of no fewer than three members. The chairperson of the thesis committee shall hold a permanent (tenured or tenure track) San Jose State University faculty appointment and be on duty during the full academic year. Qualified individuals --incuding part-time temporary faculty, faculty on partial retirement, and non-faculty with expertise related to the thesis topic-- may serve as thesis committee members, but the majority of the thesis committee members shall hold San Jose State University faculty appointments.