SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSE, CA 95192

SM-F13-1, Senate Management Resolution, Updating the Membership of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee

Amended by University Policy S19-2

Legislative History:

At its meeting of October 21, 2013, the Academic Senate passed the following Senate Management Resolution presented by Senator Kaufman for the Organization and Government Committee. [Note: The original policy that established the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee could not be found.]

On September 11, 2019, President Mary A. Papazian approved University Policy S19-2. S19-2 is Amendment A to SM-F13-1 which updated the membership of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee.

Senate Management Resolution

Updating the Membership of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee

Resolved, that the membership of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee be as listed below:

Membership: Members are appointed for one year terms, except the chair who is elected annually by the Senate:

AVP, Student Affairs or designee (EXO)
AVP, Enrollment Services or designee (EXO)
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies (EXO- non-voting)
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies (EXO – non-voting)
Director Student Involvement (EXO)
Director, University Housing Services (EXO)
Alumni Representative
1 faculty, College of Business
1 faculty, College of Education
1 faculty, College of Engineering
1 member, General Unit
1 faculty, College of Health and Human Sciences

faculty, College of Humanities and Arts
 faculty, College of Science
 faculty, College of Social Science
 AS President
 Student Senators
 Graduate Student
 Associated Students: 2 members

Rationale:

In order to ensure that graduate student academic concerns are raised, the Associate Dean of Graduate Studies has been added as a non-voting member. The previous Student Affairs membership includes several Vice Presidents or designees; the new membership names members by importance of their positions in relation to student affairs. In addition, no document currently exists which gives the membership of this committee.

Approved:	September 9, 2013
Vote:	9-0-0
Present:	Kaufman (Chair), Mathur, Backer, Rudy, Miller, Laker, Poole, Hebert, Bacich
Absent:	Sanchez, Morazes
Financial Impact:	None
Workload:	There will be no workload changes