

A campus of The California State University

Office of the Academic Senate • One Washington Square • San Jose, California 95192-0024 • 408-924-2440 • Fax: 408-924-2451

SM-S05-2

At its meeting of February 28, 2005, the Academic Senate passed the following Senate Management Recommendation presented by Sally Veregge for the Organization and Government Committee.

## SENATE MANAGEMENT RESOLUTION CONTINUING EDUCATION COMMITTEE

- Whereas, Continuing Education is now called International and Extended Studies, and
- Whereas, The university no longer uses the term "Continuing Education" to describe certificate and non-degree programs, and
- Whereas, International and Extended Studies no longer uses the Instructional Television Fixed Services Channels (ITFS), and
- Whereas, The ITFS channels are now under the supervision of the Associate Vice President for Academic Technology, and
- Whereas, Executive Order 805 states that "all revenues derived from the enrollment of non-matriculated students in state-supported regular courses or in self-support special session courses shall be deposited in the Continuing Education Revenue Fund or in campus trust," and
- Whereas, Executive Order 805 states that "the allocation of all revenues derived from the enrollment of non-matriculated students in state-supported regular courses or in self-support special session courses shall be determined by the campus president, following consultation with the campus budget advisory committee," therefore be it.

Resolved, That the name and charge for the Continuing Education Committee be changed as follows:

Continuing Education Committee Extended Studies Committee [CR]—Advises the Dean of Extended Studies; studies problems and recommends policies and procedures related to Continuing Education and ITFS (Instructional Television Fixed Service Channels) Extended Studies (ES) activities; advises regarding Continuing Education Reserve Funds; evaluates and reviews and approves the review and approval process for all certificate programs which consist solely of non-degree credit courses.

Approved: November 1, 2004

Consulted: Dean, Extended Education; Chair, Curriculum and Research Committee;

Chair, Academic Senate; Chair, Continuing Education Committee

Present: Ruth Wilson, Judy Hilliard, Caroline Fee, Chris Hebert, Sharon Parsons,

Jennifer Lam, Chang Choo

Absent: 0

Vote: 7-0-0

Financial Impact: None