

A campus of The California State University

Office of the Academic Senate • One Washington Square • San Jose, California 95192-0024 •408-924-2440 Fax: 408-924-2451 SS-S07-5

At its meeting of March 19, 2007, the Academic Senate passed the following Sense of the Senate Resolution presented by Senator Van Selst for the Executive Committee.

SENSE OF THE SENATE RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE LEADERSHIP OF THE WASC RE-ACCREDITATION REVIEW FOR SERVICE TO THE UNIVERSITY

WHEREAS, the first of three campus visits in the current Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) review cycle took place in Fall 2004; and

WHEREAS, the third campus visit for the current WASC review cycle has just been completed; and

WHEREAS, the thoughtful way in which the Accreditation Steering Committee carried out the campus process resulted in a positive and engaging experience for the entire SJSU community, and

WHEREAS, the committed way in which the Accreditation Steering Committee carried out the campus process resulted in the active engagement of faculty, staff, students and administrators in the re-accreditation process, and

WHEREAS, this engagement led to an effective and productive review of SJSU; therefore be it

RESOLVED that the following individuals be commended for their special contributions to the capacity, special visit and/or educational effectiveness review process:

Robert Cooper

Gail Evans

Deanna Fassett

Nancie Fimbel

Don W. Kassing

Dorothy Poole

Kathleen Roe

Bethany Shifflett Carmen Sigler

Pamela Stacks

Eloise Stiglitz

Sutee Sujitparapitaya

Ann Marie Todd

Beth Von Till

and further be it,

RESOLVED that the Academic Senate also thank the current and former members of the Accreditation Steering Committee for their dedication and service to the campus during the WASC review process:

Cheryl Allmen-Vinnedge
Thalia Anagnos
Steve Branz
Barbara Conry
Robert Cooper
Miriam Donoho
Lee Dorosz
Gail Evans
Nancie Fimbel
Mary Jo Gorney-Moreno
Judith Lessow-Hurley
Cindy Marota
William Nance
Annette Nellen

Mark Novak

Dorothy Poole

Kathleen Roe

Marshall Rose

Delfina Sabogal-Tori

Maureen Scharberg

Bethany Shifflett

Carmen Sigler

Pamela Stacks

Eloise Stiglitz

Sally Veregge

Beth Von Till

Sharon Willey

Dave Yarnold

Approved: March 13, 2007

Vote: 12-0-0

Absent: Gutierrez

Present: Hebert, Hurley, Kassing, Kaufman, Lee, McClory, Meldal, Najjar, Sigler, Thames, Veregge, Bros

Financial Impact: None