SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY ONE WASHINGTON SQUARE SAN JOSE, CA 95192

SS-S15-5, Sense of the Senate Resolution, Honoring and Thanking Dr. Lynda Heiden for Her Service to the Senate and University

Legislative History: At its meeting of May 11, 2015, the Academic Senate approved the following Sense of the Senate Resolution presented by Vice Chair Kimbarow for the Executive Committee.

SENSE OF THE SENATE RESOLUTION Honoring and Thanking Dr. Lynda Heiden for Her Service to the Senate and University

Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden has been Chair of the Academic Senate for two terms from 2013-2015; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden served the Senate and University as Chair of Undergraduate Studies, Chair of Organization & Government and Chair of Curriculum and Research and the Director of Assessment; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden has chaired or served on a number of search committees for cabinet level positions; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden has led the Academic Senate during many leadership changes at the University; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden led efforts to reaffirm San José State's commitment to effective shared governance; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden maintained her poise and effectiveness and kept the Senate moving forward while the University addressed a difficult racial incident; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden is committed to achieving a welcoming and supportive diverse campus; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden served as an effective and influential liaison between the Academic Senate and members and stakeholders of the SJSU campus community; and
Whereas	Dr. Lynda Heiden has offered sage advice to the President, vice presidents, deans, faculty, staff and students; and

Whereas Dr. Lynda Heiden relied on fact-based, group decision making to conduct

Senate business; and

Whereas Dr. Lynda Heiden modeled standards of honesty, integrity, fairness and

equity in argumentation and debate; therefore be it

Resolved that the Academic Senate of San José State University congratulate,

thank, and commend Dr. Lynda Heiden for her strong, effective and

steadfast leadership.

Approved: May 6, 2015 Vote: 13-0-0

Present: Qayoumi, Feinstein, Terry, Larochelle, Miller, Peter, Frazier,

Kimbarow, Brada-Williams, Shifflett, Grosvenor, Sabalius,

Backer

Abesent: None