2003/2004 Academic Senate

MINUTES September 8, 2003

I. The meeting was called to order at 2:05 p.m. and attendance was taken. Twenty-Four Senators were present. Note: Only faculty Senators were required to attend this meeting.

Ex Officio:

Present: Brent, Nellen, McNeil Absent: Shokouh, Crowley, Sabalius

Administrative Representatives: Present: None Absent: Lee, Rascoe, Kassing, Goodman

Deans: Present: Meyers Absent: Andrew, Brievik, Gorney-Moreno

Students: Present: Tran Absent: Gadamsetty, Lam, Sherman, Torres, Paat

Alumni Representative: Absent: Guerra

Emeritus Representative: Present: Buzanski

Honorary Senators (Non-Voting): Present: Norton

General Unit Representatives: Present: Liu Absent: Thames CASA Representatives: Present: David, Gonzales Absent: Palakurthi

COB Representatives: Present: Campsey, Donoho Absent: El-Shaieb

ED Represent: Present: Katz Absent: Lessow-Hurley

ENG Representatives: Present: Singh, Pour, Choo

H&A Representatives: Present: Van Hooff, Vanniarajan, Desalvo Absent: None

SCI Representatives: Present: Matthes, Veregge, Bros Absent: Kellum

SOS Representatives: Present: Ogaz, Baba Absent: Van Selst

SW Representative: None

II. Approval of Academic Senate Minutes –

Minutes - None

III. Communications

A. From the Chair of the Senate -

Chair Nellen explained that she had called the Senate into special session to vote on a replacement for Pam Stacks as a faculty representative to the Advisory Committee to the Trustee Committee for the Selection of the President. Chair Nellen indicated that this was a time-sensitive issue and needed a decision before the first regularly schedule Senate meeting

on September 29, 2003. Chair Nellen said there were originally three people nominated by their colleges in addition to Pam Stacks and Terry Christensen, however, one of those three was no longer available to serve (Toni Campbell from the College of Education). The other two nominees; Louis Freund from Engineering, and Inger Sagatun-Edwards from the College of Applied Sciences and the Arts will give brief statements. After the two nominees make their statements, the Senate will vote on who the replacement will be.

B. From the President of the University - No Report

IV. Executive Committee Report –

- A. Executive Committee Minutes None Budget Advisory Committee Minutes – None
- B. Consent Calendar None.
- C. Executive Committee Action Items: None.
- V. Unfinished Business None

VI. Policy Committee and University Library Board Action Items. In rotation.

- A. Instruction and Student Affairs Committee None
- **B.** University Library Board None
- C. Professional Standards Committee None
- **D.** Curriculum and Research Committee None
- E. Organization and Government Committee None
- F. Professional Standards Committee None
- G. Budget Advisory Committee None

VII. Special Committee Reports – None

VIII. New Business –

A. Louis Freund gave a brief statement about why he would be the best candidate for the Advisory Committee to the Trustee Committee for the Selection of the President.

B. Inger Sagatun-Edwards gave a brief statement about why she would be the best candidate for the Advisory Committee to the Trustee Committee for the Selection of the President.

C. Ballots were distributed to all faculty members of the Senate. The ballots were collected by Eva Joice. Eva Joice and Chair Nellen counted the ballots. Chair Nellen declared Inger Sagatun-Edwards the winner by a majority of the vote.

IX. State of the University Announcements. Questions. In rotation.

- A. Associated Student President Meeting adjourned, no report given.
- B. Statewide Academic Senate Meeting adjourned, no report given.
- C. Provost Meeting adjourned, no report given.
- D. Vice President for Admin. and Finance Meeting adjourned, no report given.
- E. Vice President for Student Affairs Meeting adjourned, no report given.
- **X.** Adjournment The meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.